MORPH: 15th Annual Betsy Meyer Memorial Exhibition

March 2 – April 14, 2019

Download the Prospectus

  • (L) 4.16.18, (R) Untitled (negative casting) © Bill Gerhard

MORPH, the 15th Annual Betsy Meyer Memorial Exhibition features the 2019 Meyer Family Award for Contemporary Art recipients, Bill Gerhard (Sculpture | Philadelphia, PA), Colleen McCubbin Stepanic (Painting, Sculpture, and Installation | Philadelphia, PA), and Hanna Vogel (Sculpture and Installation | Philadelphia, PA). Through their willingness to relinquish control, the artists in MORPH share a common understanding of the inevitable influence of time on the environments we inhabit, from the personal to the cosmic. Viewers are called to consider the impact of elemental forces, how they affect creation and destruction to form something altogether new. These artists examine familiar and unfamiliar habitats that have overgrown, unraveled, eroded and morphed.

About the Exhibition

As an artist, Betsy exemplified what is most exciting about engaging with the artwork of living artists: watching them experiment with their media and tackling complicated and tough subjects. As a teacher, she encouraged her students to follow her example and expand their practice into new frontiers. And finally, as a member of the board and exhibition committee, she assured that the Art Center was there for the artistic community of Philadelphia.

The Meyer Family Award for Contemporary Art, presented by Main Line Art Center in conjunction with the Betsy Meyer Memorial Exhibition (March 2 – April 14, 2019), consists of an award of $1000 and a solo exhibition to each selected artist. This award and associated exhibition program is an effort to support the talented contemporary artists in the region, to honor deserving artists in the field, and to encourage excellence and experimentation in artistic practice, presentation, and community involvement.

Artist Talks and Opening Reception:

Saturday, March 2, 5:30 – 8:00 pm

Main Line Art Center Board of Artistic Advisors

Donald E. Camp
Artist & Guggenheim Fellowship Recipient

Nic Coviello

Cecelia Fitzgibbon
President of Moore College of Art & Design

Timothy Hawkesworth
Artist, Lecturer, and Teacher

Judy Herman
Artist and Previous ED of Main Line Art Center

Tu Huynh
Director of the Art in City Hall Program of the City of Philadelphia

Leslie Kaufman
Executive Director of Philadelphia Sculptors

Stephen Perloff
Artist and Publisher of The Photo Review

Christine Pfister
Owner of Pentimenti Gallery in Philadelphia

Mary Salvante
Director of Rowan University Art Gallery

Liz Spungen
Executive Director of The Print Center

Barbara Sylk
Collector and Arts Advocate

Eileen Tognini
Independent Curator, Collaborator, and Innovator

Evan Slepian
Owner of WP Gallery (Works on Paper)

Cythina Veloric
Curatorial Researcher, Philadelphia Museum of Art

Rachel Zimmerman
Artist and Executive Director of Inliquid Art & Design